# REGENT CANDIDATE ADVISORY COUNCIL

Centennial Office Building | St. Paul, MN 55155 | Phone: (651) 296-9002 | www.rcac.mn.gov

#### FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Sally Olson, RCAC Staff, sally.olson@lcc.mn.gov

### 22 applicants selected to interview for University of Minnesota Board of Regents

(St. Paul, MN, December 16, 2024) Twenty-two candidates for four vacancies on the University of Minnesota Board of Regents were selected to be interviewed by the Regent Candidate Advisory Council (RCAC) at their meeting on December 13, 2024. The RCAC announced the vacancies in October and received a total of 40 applications.

Four of the twelve seats on Board of Regents are open for appointment every two years, each representing a six-year term. The positions to be filled in 2025 include one from Minnesota's fifth congressional district, one student statewide at-large seat and two statewide at-large seats.

The RCAC is a 24-member advisory council established by the Minnesota State Legislature to recruit, screen, and recommend regent candidates for election by the Legislature. The interviews in this round will be held January 6 - 10, 2025 and are open to the public. The RCAC must recommend to a Joint Legislative Committee between two and four individuals for each open position on the Board. The Joint Committee selects one candidate for each open position and submits this slate of candidates for consideration by the full Legislature sitting in Joint Convention. Under the Minnesota Constitution, the Joint Convention elects Regents to the Board.

Following are the names of the candidates to be interviewed by the RCAC for each open regent seat:

#### Fifth District:

Robert Albright (Edina)
Devin Driscoll (Minneapolis)
Benjamin Kaplan (St. Louis Park)
Ellen Luger (Minneapolis)
Jenna Mitchler (Minneapolis)

#### **Student At-Large:**

Taiwo Aremu (Falcon Heights)
Kowsar Mohamed (Minneapolis)
Madeline Rowe (Minneapolis)
Flora Yang (Minneapolis)
Dylan Young (St. Paul)

## **Statewide At-Large:**

Jamal Adam (Maple Grove)

Robert Beacher (Eden Prairie)

Drew Christensen (Savage)

Jeffrey Ettinger (Austin)

John Gibbs (Bloomington)

Katie (Mary) Harms (Minnetonka)

Travis Johnson (Beltrami)

Josh Lease (Monticello)

Scott Nagel (Maple Grove)

Ann Sheldon (Lino Lakes)

Scott Wallace (Woodbury)

Dan Wolter (Lakeville)