Regent Candidate Advisory Council December 12, 2018 Basement, State Office Building

Meeting Minutes

Present

Dan Wolter, Chair

Kathy Madson, Vice Chair

Paul Taylor, Vice Chair

Sen. Paul Anderson

Rep. Connie Bernardy

Bill Brady

Margaret Carlson

Drew Christensen

Sen. Greg Clausen

John Engelen

Jim Erickson

Barb Farrell

Tim Huebsch

Charles Krause

Quentin Moore

Rep. Bud Nornes

Megan Olson

Bill Otto

Jerry Rogers

Stacia Wakefield

Excused

Ayah Abuserrieh

Shelley Buck

Theo Menon

Corey Miltimore

Call to Order

Dan Wolter, Chair, called the meeting of the Regent Candidate Advisory Council (RCAC) to order at 9:04 AM in the Basement Hearing Room of the State Office Building. A quorum was present.

Approval of Minutes

Tim Huebsch moved approval of the meeting minutes from the September 18, 2018 meeting. Seconded. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Presentation from the Board of Regents

Regent David McMillan, Chair, Board of Regents, presented on the recent presidential search, the RCAC Selection Criteria for Members of the University of Minnesota Board of Regents, and the qualities and characteristics to look for in candidates for the Board of Regents.

Selection Criteria Committee Report

Kathy Madson presented the Selection Criteria Committee Report pointing out the changes that had been incorporated for the 2018-19 RCAC Selection Criteria for Members of the University of Minnesota Board of Regents.

John Engelen moved to adopt the 2018-19 Selection Criteria. Seconded. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Reference Check/Interview Process Committee

Tim Huebsch presented an overview of the revised process for checking candidate references for 2018-19.

Recruitment Committee Report

Paul Taylor, Recruitment Committee Chair, provided an overview of the outreach efforts of the recruitment committee.

Chair Wolter called a recess at 10:37 AM.

Chair Wolter called the meeting back to order at 10:54 AM.

Review of Selection Procedures/Selection of Interviewees

Chair Wolter reviewed the process for selecting candidates to be interviewed.

Chair Wolter invited members to provide comments on the applicants. Discussion of applicants ensued and occurred throughout the selection process.

Voting commenced with 20 members present and voting and one member voting via absentee ballot.

Drew Christensen moved to suspend the rules and grant interviews to all incumbent candidates: Regent Lucas (Fifth District), Regent Johnson (At-Large) and Regent Omari (At-Large). Seconded. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Student At-Large

First Ballot: Six candidates received a majority of the votes on the first ballot and were automatically qualified for an interview. They were: Andrew Brichacek, James Farnsworth, Mary Franz, Mike Kenyanya, Sara Kettering and Joshua Preston.

Paul Taylor moved to suspend the rules to close balloting and add Thomas Keller to the pool of six candidates that automatically qualified for an interview, thereby, interviewing seven candidates for the Student At-Large Seat. Seconded. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Fifth District

Drew Christensen moved to suspend the rules and interview Allison Barmann, Paul Cullen, Kelly Doran,

Roger Kittelson and Janie Mayeron for the Fifth District seat and dispense with the balloting process. Seconded. THE MOTION DID NOT PREVAIL.

First Ballot: Three candidates received a majority of the votes on the first ballot and automatically qualified for an interview. They were: Allison Barmann, Kelly Doran and Janie Mayeron.

Bill Otto moved to suspend the rules to interview the four people already selected for an interview (Allison Barmann, Kelly Doran, Peggy Lucas and Janie Mayeron) and close voting. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

At-Large (Two Seats)

Sen. Anderson moved to suspend the rules and remove the applicants included on the At-Large ballot that did not advance on a previous ballot. Seconded. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Chair Wolter called a recess at 12:26 PM.

Chair Wolter called the meeting back to order at 12:47 PM.

First Ballot: Nine candidates received a majority of the votes on the first ballot and automatically qualified for an interview. They were: Lynn Abrahamsen, Susan Adams Loyd, Les Bensch, Mary Davenport, Kao Ly Her, Carol Johnson-Dean, Bill Luther, Leona Moore and Sandra Wiese.

Jim Erickson moved to suspend rules to close balloting and add Robert Eddy, Kim Isenberg and Donovan Scwichtenberg to the list of candidates to be interviewed for the At-Large seats. Seconded. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Notification of Interviewees

Members then volunteered to make the initial calls congratulating candidates who were selected for interviews. Members also volunteered to call those candidates that were not selected for an interview.

Rep. Bernardy moved to suspend the rules and add Gloria Atika to the list of candidates to be interviewed for the an At-Large seat. Seconded. THE MOTION DID NOT PREVAIL.

Procedural Details - Candidate Interviews

Sally Olson, RCAC Staff, provided an overview of the interview process noting that interviews will be held the week of January 7 – January 11, 2019. It was determined to hold interviews Monday through Thursday with voting commencing on Friday morning.

Adjournment

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 1:24 PM.